Charmed

Twin Leaf Hooded Scarf

I’d like to introduce knitting feat number three – a hooded scarf I deem worthy of gracing this adorable head.

Twin Leaf Hooded Scarf

I’ve already explained the glorious potential of hooded scarves in my last post – as well as the many pitfalls (exhibit a).

It follows that when I found a design that actually worked, I didn’t just hang on to it. I had to explore its possibilities.

Twin Leaf Hooded Scarf

So here’s my second variation, drawn from the same inspiration as my Curving Lattice design.

Twin Leaf Hooded Scarf

Materials: Worsted-weight yarn (about 500 yards/450 m), size 10 ½ (6.5mm) needles

CO 104 sts.

Knit one row (WS).

Begin working lace pattern:

Row 1 (RS): *K8, k3tog, yo, k1, yo, p2, yo, k1, yo, sk2p**, k8, repeat from * to end.

Row 2 and all even-numbered rows: Purl across.

Row 3: * K6, k3tog, k1, [yo, k1] twice, p2, k1, [yo, k1] twice, sk2p, k6, repeat from * to end.

Row 5: *K4, k3tog, k2, yo, k1, yo, k2, p2, k2, yo, k1, yo, k2, sk2p, k4, repeat from * to end.

Row 7: * K2, k3tog, k3, yo, k1, yo, k3, p2, k3, yo, k1, yo, k3, sk2p, k2, repeat from * to end.

Row 9: * K3tog, k4, yo, k1, yo, k4, p2, k4, yo, k1, yo, k4, sk2p, repeat from * to end.

10: Purl across.

**Sl1, k2tog, psso.

Repeat rows 1-10 for a total of 50 rows.

Twin Leaf Hooded Scarf

Next row (RS): Work row 1 over the first 39 sts (first tail), bind off the next 26 sts, then work row 1 over the last 39 sts (second tail).

You can choose to work both tails of the scarf simultaneously with separate balls of yarn, or knit them one at a time (I finished the second tail first, then went back to the first tail).

Next row (WS): Purl to 2 sts before end of second tail, p2tog tbl. For the first tail: p2tog, purl to end.

Next row (RS): Continue in lace pattern (bearing in mind that you won’t be able to knit complete rows on the ends that are decreasing).

Repeat these 2 rows until 26 sts remain for each tail.

Continue in lace pattern (without decreasing) until piece measures about 33” from cast-on edge (or your preferred length), ending with Row 10.

Next row (RS): Purl.

BO knitwise.

Twin Leaf Hooded Scarf

To finish, fold hood in half lengthwise and sew back seam (cast-on edge). Weave in ends.

For the fringe, cut 42 pieces of yarn, 14” long. Hold 3 strands together and fold in half. Insert needle or crochet hook through edge of scarf and draw the folded strands through. Pull ends through the loop and tighten. Repeat, attaching 7 fringes to each tail of the scarf.

Finish the hood with a tassel (you can see detailed instructions here).

Tassel

There you have it. Now you can make sure that all the sweetest beneficiaries of your knitting will 1) stay warm and 2) not look like freaks.

Mission accomplished.

Twin Leaf Hooded Scarf

16 thoughts on “Charmed

  1. Beautiful!!! But you know what? Last year when I was looking for a pattern for a hooded scarf for a gift I couldn’t find any that I really liked. I settled for for a pattern but this one is so much nicer. Oh well, she was happy with the one I made so I guess it all worked out.

  2. Thanks for the beautiful design. I am a little bit confused about the two stars after sk2p** on row 1 and **sl1 on row 10?

    • The ** is to explain my abbreviation (sk2p), which I spelled out after row 10 (Sl 1, k2tog, psso). Does that help?

  3. I realized a mistake I made in this knitting the first pattern row, where I wasn’t getting the correct number of stitches on the last pattern repeat. after the sk2p, you knit 8 more stitches to finish the pattern row, correct? it was throwing me off a bit, and had to rip back. but when I finally did it with the 8 stitches it came out correctly.

  4. You stated worsted weight. My yarn is BFL and supposed to be 250 yards, 100 gr. I am not sure if that is dk or worsted and I am terrible at getting gauge.
    I love your design and have made a similar one from bulky alpaca using 3 skeins.
    Since the amt of my yarn is limited, I wondered what the dimensions are for the pattern? I realize I could make the scarf a tad short if need be, but it is the height of the hood that I worry about, since the one I made in bulky alpaca seems too long.

    • It sounds like your yarn may be slightly lighter. It should be easy, though, to adjust the height of the hood if necessary, since you can measure it against your head :o) before you even begin the scarf (the seam is on top). Here’s a link to my inspiration for this design – it has much more detailed specs that may be helpful: http://www.redheart.com/files/patterns/pdf/LW2460_0.pdf

  5. I’m really enjoying the theme/design of your blog.

    Do you ever run into any browser compatibility problems?

    A handful of my blog visitors have complained about my blog
    not working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Firefox.
    Do you have any tips to help fix this issue?

  6. Totally fell en amour! I am starting it right now. Thank you so much for sharing your design. I will keep you informed if you want.

  7. Sorry to bother but I’m loss….. after ROW 10: Purl across it says,

    **Sl1, K2tog, psso. Do I do that all the way across then repeat rows 1-10 for a total of 50 rows. Or do I do the Sl1, k2tog, psso after I repeat Rows 1-10?

    • Sorry for your confusion! The ** is not a row – it’s there to explain the abbreviation “sk2p,” which I used throughout the pattern. I’ve updated that to display in italic in case anyone else might be confused. Thanks!

Leave a Comment

