Bored Squiggly

Boredom is bad for you.

Warnings against the dangers of idleness have circulated for centuries, and people resort to all kinds of pointless activities (or worse) when they’re bored to tears.

Doodling, on the other hand, has been officially sanctioned and hailed for its many psychological benefits.

This tactic has saved my under-stimulated brain from destruction more than once. And these shoes elevate doodles from a last-ditch defense against boredom to a wearable art form.

IMG_7450

This project was inspired on a long train ride, when I spotted a girl coloring shoes with Sharpies to stave off boredom.

I have years of practice drawing flowers, paisley and puzzles in notebooks, so it was easy to create these designs.

IMG_7455

Granted, I haven’t worn these shoes with every outfit. But after three years, they look every bit as good as the day I finished them.

So I’m ready to call this experiment a success and offer up the secrets of my method.

DSCN1041

Doodle Shoes

Materials:

  • Canvas shoes
  • Pencil
  • Tiny paintbrush
  • Acrylic paint
  • Fine-tip permanent marker
  • Scotchgard spray

First, remove laces and draw your design with pencil (mechanical is best).

Then take your paintbrush, squirt a small amount of paint, and fill in the designs with color.

DSCN0803

This project doesn’t require much paint. I used the leftovers from four tiny bottles my sisters bought for another project (mixing to create more colors), and I didn’t run out.

Also, I used a black paint pen for the background. You might find this easier than using a tiny brush.

IMG_7453

Then, use a fine-tip permanent marker to outline your shapes. It’s still important to paint carefully, but this goes a long way to cleaning them up.

I left the stitched sections of my shoes white for greater contrast. To make the edges sharp, I lifted these pieces with my fingernail and painted underneath.

IMG_7452

When finished, spray with Scotchgard to protect your masterpiece. I especially wanted to keep the white sections clean and bright—and it worked!

IMG_7449

Obviously, this project takes many hours.

The process is relaxing—like doodling—but I have refused all requests for custom, crazy shoes. I’ve told you how to make your own, so go for it!

Although, if I could sneak this project into lectures and meetings, we might have a deal.

IMG_7451

5 thoughts on “Bored Squiggly

  1. With so many of my business meetings happening on-line, I could be making a pair of those and no one would even know!

  2. Pingback: Quirky | Spicy Life

Leave a Comment

