Tex-Mexisian Taquitos

I’m going to call these… Wontitos. They are delicious.

Wontitos

Even the most ridiculous stretch of definition can’t fit this creation into any ethnic food category. Really, “Wontitos” is just an attempt to find something better than “southwestern-flavored bits of stuff in wonton wrappers.”

I like it. Plus, this recipe is perfect for kids, so it deserves a kid-friendly name!

Wontitos

This recipe was my inspiration. It reminded me of the taquitos my mom would pull out of the freezer on busy afternoons. The egg roll wrappers were an interesting twist, and I thought they might be a healthier option than tortillas.

I decided to try them out on my family, but when a happy accident left me with smaller wonton wrappers, I created wontitos instead!

Wontitos

  • 1 C cooked chicken
  • 1 can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 C frozen corn, thawed
  • 1 can diced green chiles, drained
  • 1 C shredded cheddar cheese (or a blend)
  • 1 t cumin
  • ½ t chili powder
  • ¼ t cayenne pepper
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

Combine all ingredients in a bowl.

Filling

I told you this was nothing fancy. Yum.

Filling

Now, hold a wonton wrapper flat in your hand.

Spoon a small amount of filling into it.

Filling wontitos

Dip your finger in some water and run it along the edge of the wrapper.

Fold the edges over the filling and press them together.

Wontito

If you prefer, you can fold the wrappers more like egg rolls and close the ends, but they’ll be pretty tiny. With the ends open, they can hold more filling – and they’re more reminiscent of taquitos. (The filling stayed in just fine.)

Set the wontitos on a very lightly greased cookie sheet.

Wontitos

Bake at 400° F for 10-15 minutes, or until lightly browned. Flip halfway through baking time.

 I made as many wontitos as I could fit on one cookie sheet, and my family ate them (devoured might be more appropriate) in no time at all. The filling was nice and spicy on its own, but for a special extra touch, I brought out the homemade salsa!

Homemade Salsa

To complete this recipe’s perfection, I added convenience to deliciousness by packing another batch away in the freezer. When I had wrapped up the remaining filling and used all the wontons, I froze the wontitos, spread out flat on a cookie sheet. Once they were good and hard, I tossed them in a bag and put them away for us to enjoy later.

 Once we’ve eaten those, I’m eager to create some other variations on this recipe. (It’s is a great way to use up leftovers, so feel free to adjust the ingredients based on what you have in your fridge! )

If you have some bean-o-phobes in your house (I do), you can swap the beans out for something less frightening. (I didn’t. She got over it.) Or, for vegetarian wontitos, switch the chicken for the vegetable of your choice. You could also push the recipe a bit closer to the Asian side by using a filling more typical of dumplings. Or try pizza toppings inside, with different spices. I think I may even try using chopped fruit and calling this dessert!

Leave a Comment

