Do Your Ears Hang Low?

Hooded Scarf

Hooded scarves are a brilliant idea.

Hooded Scarf

Unfortunately, they don’t always turn out well.

Hooded Scarf

They’re brilliant because they cover more than the top of your head on cold, windy days.

Blizzard

And they can look good, too.

Hooded Scarf

But they can also end up looking like something from outer space. Or a furry bonnet. Or just plain weird.

Some people even try to attach mittens to their head. I don’t recommend it.

Hooded Scarf

According to my research, the most prevalent misconception is that a hat with three-foot earflaps is attractive.

But even if you are adorable in this kind of getup, it doesn’t count as a hooded scarf.

That’s why I was so delighted when I found this design.

Hooded Scarf

It had potential. It was drapey, not helmet-y—and it didn’t make the model look like she was in costume as Mary or Red Riding Hood. The scarf wasn’t too bulky, and the hood could be worn up or down.

Hooded Scarf

Basically, I passed the Goldilocks “just right” judgment and started casting on.

Hooded Scarf

But then I showed it to my family.

And three of them asked for one for Christmas.

Hooded Scarf

I was delighted to make them, of course—but I couldn’t make them all the same. To spice things up, I designed two variations on the pattern. Here’s the first:

Curving Lattice Hooded Scarf

Curving Lattice Hooded Scarf

Download printable PDF

Materials: Worsted-weight yarn (about 500 yards/450 m), size 10 ½ (6.5mm) needles

CO 106 sts.

Knit one row (WS).

Begin working Curving Lattice lace pattern:

Row 1 (RS): K1, *K2, sl1, k1, psso, k4, k2tog, k2, yo, k1, yo, rep from * to last st, k1.

Row 2 and all even-numbered rows: Purl across.

Row 3: K1, *yo, k2, sl1, k1, psso, k2, k2tog, k2, yo, k3, rep from * to last st, k1.

Row 5: K1, *k1, yo, k2, sl1, k1, psso, k2tog, k2, yo, k4, rep from * to last st, k1.

Row 7: K1, *yo, k1, yo, k2, sl1, k1, psso, k4, k2tog, k2, rep from * to last st, k1.

Row 9: K1, *k3, yo, k2, sl1, k1, psso, k2, k2tog, k2, yo, rep from * to last st, k1.

Row 11: K1, *k4, yo, k2, sl1, k1, psso, k2tog, k2, yo, k1, rep from * to last st, k1.

Row 12: Purl across.

Repeat rows 1-12 for a total of 48 rows.

Curving Lattice Hooded Scarf

Next row (RS): Work row 1 over the first 41 sts (first tail), bind off the next 24 sts, then work row 1 over the last 41 sts (second tail).

You can choose to work both tails of the scarf simultaneously with separate balls of yarn, or knit them one at a time (I finished the second tail first, then went back to the first tail).

Next row (WS): Purl to 2 sts before end of second tail, p2tog tbl.
For the first tail: p2tog, purl to end.

Next row (RS): Continue in lace pattern (bearing in mind that you won’t be able to knit complete rows on the edges that are decreasing).

Repeat these 2 rows until 28 sts remain for each tail.

Continue in lace pattern (without decreasing) until piece measures about 33” from cast-on edge (or your preferred length), ending with Row 12.

Next row (RS): Purl.

BO knitwise.

To finish, fold hood in half lengthwise and sew back seam (cast-on edge). Weave in ends.

Curving Lattice Hooded Scarf

For the fringe, cut 42 pieces of yarn, 14” long. Hold 3 strands together and fold in half. Insert needle or crochet hook through edge of scarf and draw the folded strands through. Pull ends through the loop and tighten. Repeat, attaching 7 fringes to each tail of the scarf.

Finish the hood with a tassel (you can see detailed instructions here).

Curving Lattice Hooded Scarf

I’ll be back soon with a pattern for my second variation – watch for it!

Twin Leaf Hooded Scarf

26 thoughts on “Do Your Ears Hang Low?

  1. I love this hooded scarf, but I think there may be a mistake in row 9. I’ve knit it twice and counted how many there “should” be and it doesn’t work!

    • Rhonda, you’re right – thanks for telling me!
      I’ve corrected the problem, so it should come out right.
      I hope your project turns out wonderfully – and thanks again!

  2. Pingback: Charmed | Spicy Life

  3. awesome but do not understand about the decreasing for the tails and then working without decreasing at 48 sts = please explain

    • Leslie, do you mean 28 sts? Once you have decreased to that number, you work the tail of the scarf even (28 sts) according to the 12-row lace pattern.

  4. i gather that when I get to the tails and work the pattern it will decrease down and then at 28 st just continue the pattern as far as it goes
    So far I am doing great
    Thanks

  5. Pingback: Hood | K N I T B R A N D A

  6. Pingback: Hoods and Hoodies Knitting Patterns | In the Loop Knitting

  7. Hi Jenny,

    I am knitting this scarf for a Christmas gift. I know that my niece will be very happy: it is so beautiful!!! Thank you for this pattern!

    I am knitting one of a the tail and I am not able to decrease until 28 stichs. When I knit row 1 of the, stitches are increased of 2 (yo) and at the 12th row, the total of stiches are decreased by 2. Total of stitches still same, i.e. 33 stitches ( 15 sts x 2 plus 3 sts).

    Thanks to explain me what I am doing wrong.

    • Hi! Let’s see… your stitch count should remain the same in row 1. There is a decrease for each yo, one k2tog and one sl1, k1, psso (pass slipped stitch over). The total number of stitches remains the same (the pattern is in multiples of 13 plus 2). Does this help make sense of things?

      • Hi Jenni, I am currently working on the second tail and struggling to get down to 28 stitches. As it decreases on the purl rows and I am unable to complete full multiples of the pattern (13 stitches) on the knit rows, some of the yarn overs are not being decreased by a k2tog or k1,sl1, psso. I think that this is what is happening and so the number of stitches on each row is just going up and down. Could you possibly let me know where I’m going wrong? many thanks :)

      • Hi Victoria, that’s right – you won’t be able to complete full multiples of the pattern while decreasing. You should be able to make the necessary yarn overs without canceling out your decreases, though. If you have a YO within the last few stitches on the row (with no room for the decrease), you can also omit it.

  8. Hi, I love your pattern. I am currently working on it and I am a bit confused. I repeated the lace pattern twice to get 48 rows and now I am on the first tail. Did I read the pattern wrong because I do not see how I get hood from 48 rows of the lace pattern.
    Thank you so much in advance for your help.

    • Hi Krystal! Is your gauge close to 18 st. x 20 rows = 4 inches? If so, you should be right on track. The hood is folded at the end of the project and sewn together. Until then, you will have a flat rectangle with two tails. Sound about right?

      • Hi Jennifer. I just realized that I was using the wrong size needles. So my piece is smaller than it should be. I was trying to post a picture to see if I was at least on the right track but it did not work. I am going to start again and hopefully I get it right this time. Thank you for the help :-)

  9. “Next row (RS): Work row 1 over the first 41 sts (first tail), bind off the next 24 sts, then work row 1 over the last 41 sts (second tail).”

    Hi, the pattern is lovely. I am a beginner and don’t understand what you mean by work row over?I really dont underdtand all of what i am supoosed to do, do i just knit a row? I really want to start this pattern so if you don’t mind being specific for a newb, It would be much appreciated; Thankyou!

    • Of course! What this means is, work according to Row 1 instructions* for 41 sts. That means only four repeats of that sequence (see below) instead of the full width. Then you bind off the middle stretch of that row, followed by four repeats of the same sequence. That’s going to create two sections of live stitches, which form the long ends of your scarf. When those sections are finished, the piece is like a large, blocky U shape. Does this help?

      *Row 1: K1, *K2, sl1, k1, psso, k4, k2tog, k2, yo, k1, yo, rep from * to last st, k1.

  10. Hi Jenni, I saw a pic of this pattern in a cable variation and was wondering whether you were going to share the pattern anytime soon. I simply love the cable variation and can’t wait to try it out!!

    • Hi Wilma! Can you help me know which picture you mean? Patterns are available for each of the blue, red and purple designs pictured here, so hopefully that’s a big yes for you!

Leave a Comment

